A Secret Like…

Why is it we treat a our potential like a secret

Stashed away in treasure chests to be hidden beneath our beds

Locked away in the closet

As if we are ashamed of what we could do if we didn’t limit ourselves

I see this every day

In the mirror when I wake up

And the faces I see on the street

It’s as though we are afraid of shining too much

Of standing out against the crowd

Because a star that bright seems to glow alone 

Casting everything else in shadow

We are told to be humble

Don’t brag

Keep your skills to yourself

So as not to hurt the feelings of others

And I get it

I do

But when did that turn into not having pride in yourself

When did it become normal to play down your skills

As if you were guilty of being something wonderful

You are a star

Shine

Because keeping your potential to yourself

Is a discourtesy to the world

One that thrives off the light we give

So please 

Don’t be afraid

Don’t let fear of failure or standing out stop you

Have pride

Stand out

Shine

~

Hello World,

Alright, yes, this poem is definitely on the cheesy side. Do I regret it? Nope. I think it’s important that we remind ourselves of this every day. 

In some ways I hate the word “potential” because to me it means something unfulfilled. Like I (or you or anyone else) can do better than you already are. And as someone who can be ridiculously competitive and a perfectionist, that drives me crazy. It means I’m not doing my best and a lot of the time it’s because I’m standing in my own way. Which sucks.

Anyways, my point is, I’m tired of the limits I put on myself and being ashamed of my abilities. Hopefully this works as a wake up call to others out there who see/feel that they’ve been doing the same thing. 

Until next time

X

Leave a Reply

